Hegirascope

11 09 2007

I have some mixed emotions about this.  To me it obviously plays into the short attention span that we all now have.  Thanks to the fact that we spend so much time on the internet and get so much of our information there our minds work in a way that processes information quickly and moves on to the next thing.  We become bored easily and want to move on to the next thing in just minutes.  I find myself doing this and I don’t always like it.  Focusing on one things and enjoying it becomes harder and harder to do. 

With that said, I did truly enjoy this work.  It is creative and imaginative and as much as I complain about its style and what it does to our attention span, I also couldn’t walk away from it.  I’m not exactly sure what a lot of it meant, or is supposed to mean, but I immediately found myself trying to make connections within pages.  I was trying to make sense out of what is going on there.  I don’t know that there is any sense to be made of it.  He is talking about so many different things.  The parts on the dreams are great, though a little frightening at times.  I also enjoyed the parts were he is alluding to the form that he is working in and maybe trying to tie things together.

It is also always interesting to see people take things in new directions and to see people taking advantage of technology and making it interesting, but I also have to say that I still prefer the act of curling up with a good book for several hours on rainy day like today.

-Mary Laing

Actions

Information

One response

12 09 2007
Rose

I agree that the whole thing totally plays up our short attention spans; even if you wanted to spend a long time on one page, you can’t. Also, I totally agree about the dream pages. Didn’t the whole thing kind of seem like a dream? Things kept recurring and seemed to relate in some way, but it was hard to figure out how. But still, it’s interesting to try to make it make sense.

Leave a Reply

